Motorcycle Insurance

Why Get Motorcycle Insurance in Florida
Florida is known for its year round sub-tropical weather and many beautiful beaches. It consistently ranks near the top as one of the most motorcycle-friendly states in the country. Unfortunately all those hours riding in the glorious Florida sunshine also mean an increased chance of being involved in an accident or becoming a victim of motorcycle theft or vandalism. Studies conducted by the National Safety Council of Florida estimate that one person is seriously injured in a motorcycle accident within the state every four seconds. There is also a high number of motor vehicle thefts according to the National Insurance Crime Bureau Statistics of Florida. An alarming fact is that only 20-25% of motorcycles stolen are recovered.

Even though it is important to carry motorcycle insurance in Florida, it is not actually required by law. This makes Florida’s motorcycle insurance laws different from many other states. However, the facts clearly show that motorcycle insurance is a must for anyone operating a vehicle in the state. Don’t run the risk of financial ruin by driving without adequate coverage.

Motorcycle Riding in Florida
Passing a basic driving test and a series of examinations are some of the requirements to obtain a motorcycle license in Florida. The person applying for a license must be at least 16 years old. However, someone who is 15 years of age can initially get a learner’s permit. When a motorcycle driver’s license is received, it is usually included as an endorsement on the standard driver’s license as motorcycle also or motorcycle only found under the expiration date.

Motorcycle License Requirements in Florida

  • Proof of Identification (Passport or Birth Certificate)
  • Social Security card
  • Application and Fees
  • Parental Consent (if under 18 years of age)
  • Learner’s License held for 12 months (if under 18 years of age)
  • Basic driver course
  • Series of Examinations (Vision test, Road Rules and Road Signs test, Driving test)

Florida Insurance Coverage
Florida is considered to be a no-fault state. Therefore, the traditional personal liability insurance laws are only applicable to drivers of vehicles with four or more wheels. The required minimum amount of personal injury liability coverage includes:

  • $10,000 for bodily injury of one person
  • $20,000 for bodily injury of all injured parties
  • $10,000 for property damage in one accident

All owners of vehicles are also required to carry Personal Injury Protection insurance of at least $10,000 for medical expenses and $5,000 in death benefits.

If a motorcyclist in Florida wants to fulfill motorcycle insurance laws, this can be done by obtaining a motorcycle insurance policy with $30,000 combined single limit liability coverage in contrast to split limits.

Motorcycle drivers may choose self-insurance by depositing a specified amount of funds with the Bureau of Motorist Compliance. They may also provide evidence of unencumbered assets. No matter which method is used for insurance coverage, proof of insurance must be kept with the vehicle at all times and must be shown to law enforcement officials, if requested.

Florida Motorcycle-specific Laws
Motorcycle laws are designed specifically to protect the driver and the rest of the general public from serious injury and harm. Do your part to be a safe and courteous driver. Know the rules of the road and obey them at all times. Here are some regulations as mandated by the state of Florida:

  • Individuals younger than 21 MUST wear approved safety helmets.
  • Individuals 21 & older without $10,000 medical insurance coverage MUST wear helmets.
  • Eye protection is required.
  • Passenger seats and footrests are required when carrying a passenger.
  • One left or right side mirror is required.
  • Turn signals and brake lights are required.
  • Handlebars higher than the height of the driver’s shoulders are not permitted.