Unitrin is a registered trademark of Unitrin and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Unitrin

Unitrin Background
Unitrin is one of the leading financial service companies that provide a wide range of services that includes consumer and financial products services, for small families, small business and also individuals. This $3 billion company boasts of having the right products for the right services, so that a right choice is provided to the shareholders. Unitrin has $9 billion in assets and around 8200 associates. There are many companies under the banner of Unitrin, specializing in different areas, such as property and casualty insurance, insurance for life and death, and also finance for individuals, families and small businesses.

Unitrin Ratings

  • 1.9
    coverage
  • 2.3
    cost
  • 1.6
    service
  • 1.4
    claims
  • 1.8
    overall rating

Based on 50 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

The Insurance and Finance Companies of Unitrin are mainly known to serve the people around the United States. This is a company that is a part of the leading financial service providers in the United States , with more than 6 million policy holders. These policyholders receive all kinds of services that are related to basic insurance and financial needs, by a large number of career agents and loan representatives of the company. Another company in the group of Unitrin is the Property and Casualty Insurance Group that is made up of Unitrin Kemper Auto and Home, Unitrin Specialty, and Unitrin Business Insurance. These are involved with the selling of personal and commercial insurance along with the help of a network of agents. There is another group that is referred to as Unitrin Property and Casualty Insurance Group, another company working under the Unitrin group, helps to connect a group of insurance carriers of a particular region. These companies, along with the basic service also provide a large number of personal and commercial insurance products to the large number of its users. The basic units of this group are Unitrin Kemper Auto and Home, Unitrin Specialty, Unitrin Business Insurance, and Unitrin Direct.

The Life and Health Insurance Group of companies of the Unitrin group is one of the 100 life insurance providers of the nation. It consists of Career Agency Companies and Reserve National. These companies are known to be providing a large number of personalized services that include enhancing the strength of the revenue streams and also financial flexibility and the growth of the balance sheet. There are many brands in the Casualty Insurance Business, and these can be classified as Unitrin Kemper Auto and Home, Unitrin Specialty, and Unitrin Business Insurance.

A subsidiary of Unitrin, referred to as Fireside Bank specializes in automobile loans. There are many other companies that are also associated with Unitrin, such as Unitrin Kemper Auto and Home and Unitrin Specialty. Unitrin specialty is known to be providing personal and commercial insurance, with the help of its more than 8500 independent agents and brokers. Unitrin has more than 750 employees in its three different offices that are located in ( Dallas , Texas ; Woodland Hills , California ; and Salem , Oregon ). On the other hand, Unitrin Kemper Auto and Home provides personal and umbrella insurance to all its preferred customers.

There are several marketing and advertising policies of Unitrin, and most of it is done through the direct mail. The chief business strategy of the corporation is to lay more stress on corporate pricing and providing great emphasis on the customer satisfaction aspect. Most of the insurance is made through direct mails, or through the different web insurance portals

Click here to submit your review.

Unitrin

Rating 0
    cancel

Paid All Premiums, Was Cancelled On

Nov 16, 2013 by Anonymous

Can you explain why you pay all your premiums and then Unitin cancels you? I showed all my cancelled checks and they still cancelled, they said they were sending out a renewal yet nothing said it was a renewal invoice.


Good Service, Extremely High Prices

Mar 24, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have had to file two claims with Unitrin, and have had positive experiences both times. The claim was easy to file and investigator/handler worked efficiently and professionally. I got my check for the repairs within a few business days. However, my rates have been increasing every cycle (I pay every 6 months). In September 2009, my rate was $990/6mos for three cars. But now, March 2012, they're asking $1,600/6mos for just two cars!


Denied Coverage For Rental Car

Mar 12, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I bought full coverage auto through Stratum Insurance with a company called Unitrin Financial Indemnity Company. While on vacation skiing, my rental car was struck while parked in a hotel parking lot. Unitrin denied the claim stating that the insurance doesn't extend to rental vehicles. This fact was not represented by Stratum Insurance.


Blamed Me and Paid For Nothing

Feb 22, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I was rear-ended by another vehicle traveling 60 miles an hour while I was pushing my broken down vehicle out of the road. I was thrown 120 feet and seriously injured. He had Unitrin also, so they said the accident was my fault because my emergency signals were not on. I was broke down! They did not even pay all the medical bills they were supposed to. The bills came up years later on my credit and I was not able to do anything because the two years to make claims was up. The other driver was even taking medication he should not have been driving on. Pay a little extra. Unitrin cheap rates are NOT the way to go. You will regret it.


Canceled Appointments

Nov 21, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My fathers truck was hit in front of the house and now they want to investigate the case. For the second time they canceled an appointment since a Spanish interpreter wasn't available.


Low-Ball Total Loss Estimate

Nov 10, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My car was was rear-ended by a Unitrin policy holder while it was parked in front of a store. He hit my parked car so hard that it went over 7 lanes, over a curb, and into a brick building. We were thankful that no one was hurt. This company has made the past week of my life a living hell. They left us with out a car for 3 days. Then they told us that we needed to talk to our insurance company and get our car fixed. Once I complained, we were given a rental car. We drive an SUV that seats 7. They told us they would give us a compact car. Once again I complained and was given a a vehicle that would accommodate my family of 6. Yesterday, the claims agent called my husband with a low-ball offer for our vehicle. He told the agent he could not agree to this until he spoke with me. We decided that it was an unfair amount considering that we have to go and purchase a new vehicle, we are forced to have a car payment, and we are in trying to buy a house, so it affects our debt to income ratio. We called this man twice, left messages, and never received a call back. My husband called again this morning to discuss this matter and he told him he already sent out partial payment and it would be here in five days. He also told him that we needed to turn in our rental the day after tomorrow. My husband complained and the man extended it until Monday, but we won't even receive partial payment until the end of next week. We weren't asking for a ton of money, just enough for a reasonable down payment. We have over $1,000 dollars in receipts in work we just had done on the car a few months ago. The blue book price and the receipts add up to more than what they are giving us. I contacted his supervisor and I am still waiting for a call back.


Poor Renters Insurance

Nov 05, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Recently, I had a burglary. I thought I had replacement cost insurance for the items which were stolen, but even with the receipts, they took 50% off the replacement cost until I replaced the items. They gave me $200 to replace a 47 inch TV. Where can I buy a similar TV for that much money? I gave them a receipt for $600.


Unprofessional Claims Reps

May 29, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My car was totaled in an accident deliberately caused by another drive. She cut me off on a deserted four lane street and slammed on the brakes so that I would hit her. The police called it an attempt at insurance fraud. Long story short, my car was totaled and Unitrin dragged their feet when I filed my damage claim. I also was treated very poorly by the claims representative who argued with me about my claim.


Poor Claims Process Practices

 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I've had 3 poor experiences with them. Two were very minor accidents and 1 was major. The only thing positive about my experiences with them is the cost. I was in an accident and immediately called to make a claim. The rep told me, "our system is down and there's nothing we can do right now." I was told that by 3 different reps in a 30 minute time span. I finally got one decent rep who filled out the claim on a paper form and worked very quickly and efficiently. The next day I called to follow up and see if the claim had been input into their system. It took exactly 5 days to get an answer from my adjuster who I left 6 messages. I had to set up my own rental and pay for it before they finally took over the rental and put it in their name for billing.


Easy

 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They handled my claim quickly and fairly, and their quote was competitive for Los Angeles.


Insurance USA , USA 1.8 5.0 50 50 Can you explain why you pay all your premiums and then Unitin cancels you? I showed all my cancelled checks and they still cancelled, they said they were sending out a renewal yet
Page:
12345