State Farm is a registered trademark of State Farm and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

State Farm

State Farm was founded as an automobile Insurance Company, and was a group of large US insurance companies, that specialized in auto insurance for the farmers. State Farm was founded by George J Mercherlee, who believed that since the farmers drove less they incurred much less losses than the city farmers, thus having to pay much less in terms of insurance. His concept achieved much popularity, and the company became successful. Today the company has more than 79200 employees, with more than 16700 agents and 71.6, million policies in the United States and Canada. The headquarters of State Farm is located in Bloomington, Illinois. The chairman of State Farm is Edward B. Rust, Jr., who also acts as the Chief Executive Officer of the company.

State Farm Ratings

  • 2.6
    coverage
  • 2.4
    cost
  • 2.0
    service
  • 1.8
    claims
  • 2.2
    overall rating

Based on 186 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

State Farm Background
There are many major companies that are formed with State Farm. One of these Insurance companies is the State Farm Automobile that was formed on June 7th, 1922. Some of these insurance companies have organized many farmers, in order to solve their insurance needs. Out of every five cars that move in the roads, at least one car is insured with State Farm Insurance. This is a mutual insurance company, so does not have any kind of shareholders. State Farm was actually a parent company of several wholly owned subsidiaries, that were able to provide property and life insurance, along with banking products and other services. Health Insurance was started marketing by the company in the year 1965.

State Farm Life was another company that began operations in the year 1961, in order to meet the needs of life insurance of the people, who are located in New York, Connecticut, and Wisconsinite. The company has been marketing variable products to all our customers, since the year 1998.

Another State Farm company is the State Farm Fire and Casualty, which was formed in the year 1935, with the main objective of being able to provide property insurance for the State Farm Customers who are located in the United States and Canada. State Farm has the reputation of being the largest insurer of homes since the year 1964.

State Farm County is another Insurance company that was formed in the year 1961, in order to protect the motorists. State Farm manages the company in its most of the affairs.

Another major State Farm company is State Farm Indemnity that had the objective of providing an accurate pricing and risk management technique in the market. State Farm has also a subsidiary company that is known as State Farm Guarantee Insurance Company that started with writing auto insurance in the state of New Jersey.

In the year 1962, another State Farm company was formed that was known as State Farm General, and was involved into the primary writer of State Farm Homeowners, and also property liability insurance in California.

State Farm Florida started its business in the year Feb1, 1999, and has been involved in the business of property liability business in Florida.

State Farm Lloyds is also a company that is also referred to as State Farm Bank, and has its business of underwriting homeowners and commercial multiple peril insurance in that state. State Farm started its business in the year 1983, and is managed by an attorney State Farm Lloyds, that is mandatory by law.

State Farm Bank is also such an institution with no branch offices. The State Farm agents provide most of the work of customer assistance and customer interaction. The company has $ 12 billion in total assets as on 31st December. The main focus of State Farm has always been on consumer oriented financial products.

State Farm Investment Management serves as an investment advisor. It serves as the transfer agent for the State Farm Variable Products. The company has more than 35 years of experience in the management of assets of the investment company. The State Farm VP Management Corporation serves as a broker and a dealer of the State Farm Associate, and Retail Mutual Funds and State Farm Variable products.

State Farm Insurance Agent
The Insurance Agents of State Farm are qualified people, whose main function is to make life easier for others. The following are the functions that are performed by them.
• The are the people who help you to manage our financial situation.
• State Farm offers loans and deposit products, at many competitive interest rates through the state farm bank.
• They are known to be providing good health insurance plans that work well for your insurance needs, of auto, home, life and health.
• They also shall provide you with valuable information that is necessary on how to protect yourself from the risks in order to get the most your money.

State Farm Auto Insurance
State Farm has been in the business of auto insurance since long, and has been able to provide excellent automobile coverage at affordable prices since the year 1922. When you respond to the needs of the customers, you will be a leader in the business of auto insurance.

Click here to submit your review.

State Farm

Rating 0
    cancel

Threatened to Cancel after Claim

Jul 10, 2014 by Anonymous

We have had State Farm Insurance since 1986, paid all of our premiums on time and never made a claim. Last week we suffered $10,000 in property damage (against a $2000 deductible). We called our agent and started the claim process. They sent a company to take of the water damage and remove the damaged materials. In talking to our long-time agent, he suggested we not file a claim because State Farm may cancel us. We are retired on a fixed income. $8000 is A LOT of money. Without help from insurance, I don't know how we will get all the damage fixed in a timely manner. I am so angry at these crooks right now.


1 Claim in 25 Years, Coverage Dropped

Jul 08, 2014 by Anonymous

After being a customer for over 25 years State Farm dropped my 83 year old grandmother. She just recently had a claim for a new roof and damage to the ceiling in her bedroom from a bad storm. This is the only claims she has had in 25 years.


Rates Raised Through the Roof

Apr 09, 2014 by Anonymous

I have been with State Farm since 2005. They have been good overall but they raised my homeowners insurance rates for the last 2 years. The first year it was a small raise in rates but the second time it was so high that it raised the amount of my escrow which of course triggered a raise in my mortgage. I asked them why and they said that the rates were raised by corporate plus there was a lot of claims in my area. I told them that it was not fair to raise my rates if I did not have any claims. I have told 2 or 3 different agents that I would probably have to drop them and look for lower rates. They had a "do what you gotta do " attitude. Also they are terrible at returning calls. I am going to try Liberty Mutual which has lower rates on my homeowners insurance but higher rates on my auto insurance. I've heard bad things about Liberty Mutual too so I don't know how long I'll be with them plus I've heard that they raise their rates every year too and that in fact all insurance companies raise ther rates every year. What a rip off these insurance companies are.


Dropped After One Claim. Not Even Paid Out

Apr 01, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

State Farm dropped me after filling one claim. An adjuster never assessed my roof for the storm damage and I was not paid for anything. I received no compensation. I have had State Farm home insurance for two years and filled a claim for storm damage. Before the claim was even processed I received a letter saying stating that they will not renew my policy. State Farm then suggested I shop around for a new insurance company. I don't know how that could be legal. I would have been better off stuffing my money in a mattress for two years. What is insurance for anyway? Why am I punished for even suggesting that I need storm damage assessed? I was dropped before the claim was even resolved.


Stolen Vehicle, Rude Customer Service

Mar 06, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I had my 1 year old vehicle stolen and it has never been recovered. The State Farm investigators have been nasty, rude and have lied to me at every turn. They seem to be incompetent as they have never even been to my house or talked to anyone in my neighborhood. They did harass my mother and my friends and even indicated to my employer that I must have participated in the theft of my own car! After 4 months of being completely unprofessional and double-dealing, they finally offered me a check to pay for my vehicle. It didn't even cover what I owed on my vehicle. I am going to court against them now. I wouldn't use State farm if it was the only insurance company. State farm is not like a good neighbor!


Injured and Suffering Dealing with State Farm

Feb 19, 2014 by Anonymous

State Farm is by far the most horrible insurance company that I have ever encountered. They use a \"business model\" that consists of using every dirty, unethical trick in the book to wear someone down before paying a claim. I was the unfortunate victim of a negligent driver with State Farm Insurance. My best advice for anyone that is injured in this type of situation is to make sure you have enough insurance coverage yourself with your own insurance company. After four surgeries on my neck and shoulder, I will never be the same. I have lost everything I own and my credit is ruined all because of this accident and State Farm. My life will never be the same and I will never be able to work again. After a mediation a few weeks ago with a weasel State Farm Attorney, you would have thought I was the criminal who hit them. He viciously verbally attacked me and the whole mediation was absolutely unreal. They will do anything to get out of paying a claim. After a settlement amount was reached, I am now told day after day that \"a check is in the mail\". I am at their mercy. I am having to put off additional treatment because of this.


Issue Denials Even For Own Employees

Feb 19, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

As power of attourney for my 84 year old mother I have been trying to get State Farm to honor her policy for a foundation problem caused by underslab plumbing. I have hire experts in the field and State Farm has as well. Every document my expert writes states the plumbing caused the foundation and even State Farms reports from boring holes in the slab supports my experts claims in every way. State Farm just continues to stamp "DENIED", I don't even think they read the actual report, just the first paragraph where their hired gun supports their denial. Then their report states exactly what my expert is saying. It is almost laughable but my mothers house continues to fail. DO I hire an attourney or just take to small claims. State farm agrees the policy is granfathered and they are responsible for plumbing related damages under the policy. Here's the ironic thing; My mother was employed by a State Farm agent for over 25 years. He says take State Farm to small claims court as the only way to get them to pay.


Delay Payments

Feb 19, 2014 by Anonymous

Refuses to pay settlement claim where State Farm's client was at fault and rear ended victim and victim had severe injuries with surgeries, etc. Final settlement was agreed upon and now State Farm is using every tactic they can think of to delay paying the agreed settlement amount. How can they keep getting by with all of the unethical practices.


Bait and Switch, Poor Service

Jan 11, 2014 by Anonymous

We signed up with state farm because of the savings we were supposed to get by switching. After the first six months the policy amount increased slightly but since we had it going through our bank account for monthly payment my husband didn't really pay attention. We are up for renewal again and find that it is now almost a $25 a month increase. That's almost $300 a year. We both are good drivers and have not had any accidents, so I called the agent that we signed up with to ask why. All she could come up with was "cost of living" being a factor for the higher rate and kept trying to explain "how the stores raise the cost of a loaf of bread" as an example. She also alluded that you pay for quality. At that point I told her about my husband being stuck out in the cold for over an hour waiting for assistance (that never showed up) after his truck wouldn't shift into drive. My neighbor had to drive the truck home in reverse driving between my son and my husband driving my neighbor's car. She then became more concerned about the company being billed for the service more than the complete lack of service we received. when I called her out on that she said she would call me back. She did call back that evening to tell me she hadn't heard back from whomever she needed to talk to. After waiting all the next day I tried contacting her the following day. I was told that she was with a client so I asked that she return my call when available. I still have not heard from her.


Threw Me Under the Bus

Jan 10, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I had State Farm auto for 8 years. Sterling driving record, and no claims except for the minor damage that occured when I was stopped for a light, and a deer ran into the side of the car. I carried full coverage at high limits, medical payments, and rental insurance coverage. In \'95 a drunk passed out, veered into my lane, and hit me head on. Both cars were totalled and I was lucky to be alive. Though buckled up and protected by airbags, I was heavily bruised had wiplash, and suffered from vision backouts for weeks. The drunk\'s car was littered with empty beer cans and never sustained any injuries. A repeat offender, the police report declared the drunk 100% responsible. I filed a report with my insurance agent next morning. He, and State Farm refused to accept or process my claim. They refused me medical payments, or help me with the cost of a rental car to get to work. They claimed (falsely) that I had waived my right to a claim. (Why would I do that?) They even re-wrote my policy retroactively to exclude the specific set of circumstances of my accident!! I tried to fight State Farm but I got nowhere. No one in the area was willing to take them on. The drunk was back on the road with a new sports car in ONE week. Sensing that State Farm had \"thrown me under the bus\", the drunk\'s company (Hartford) refused to send out an adjuster to the wrecker\'s yard, where my totalled car sat. It was SIX weeks before they sent an adjuster and settled, and then they only gave me about 60% of the LOW BLUE BOOK for my previously immaculate car. They said they could do this because they were following their own \"book\", which said my car was \"unpopular\"! They allowed me a couple weeks of my rental costs. (Which should have been paid in full by State Farm), and no payments for my medical problems. Apparently the drunk had friends in high places. The drunk never even apologized for all the grief he brought into my life.


Insurance USA , USA 7.0 127.0 186 186 We have had State Farm Insurance since 1986, paid all of our premiums on time and never made a claim. Last week we suffered $10,000 in property damage (against a $2000 deductible).
Page:
123»