Medco is a registered trademark of Medco and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Medco

Medco is an innovative mail-order pharmaceutical company that has received high praise from industry insiders in recent years. This dynamic company has spent the past five years as the top provider of mail-order pharmaceuticals based on customer satisfaction surveys published by independent group Wilson Health Information. As one of the biggest prescription drug benefit companies in the United States, Medco is expanding beyond its mail-order roots.

Medco Ratings

  • 1.1
    coverage
  • 1.3
    cost
  • 0.7
    service
  • 0.7
    claims
  • 1.0
    overall rating

Based on 15 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

The core of Medco’s business remains in mail-order services provided with incredible efficiency. The company spent 2004 sending out a record 88 million prescriptions by mail to Americans with a 99.9997% efficiency rating. Medco by Mail remains the leader in mail-order pharmaceutical services due to the high costs associated with traditional pharmacies.

Medco has moved beyond its mail-order services to provide access to prescription drug discounts at www.medco.com. This website expedites the purchasing process for millions of consumers through the use of secure online forms. The independent consumer rights group Customer Respect Group has rated Medco’s website as one of the top 10 best protected websites on the Web in the past two years. A combination of secure purchases and low prices has made www.medco.com a popular destination.

Customers that want immediate access to prescription drug discounts can utilize Medco’s Medicare discount drug card. This program has provided invaluable prescription drugs to nearly a million older consumers at nearly 60,000 local and national chain pharmacies in the United States. The reason why Medco is able to help out millions of customers each year is the high volume of pharmaceuticals purchased through the company. The increased negotiating power of Medco means better prices for every customer.

Customer service is an important aspect of Medco’s rise into a dominant force in the prescription drug industry. A pharmacist is available around the clock every day of the week to answer questions about the interaction of multiple prescriptions. Customer representatives are also available 24 hours a day and 7 days a week to help deal with order and payment issues. The most important service provided by Medco to its customers is the automated health and safety review offered by phone. Every customer that fills out the company’s Health Assessment Questionnaire gains access to a review of their prescriptions by one of 2,200 certified physicians. These physicians will contact a customer’s pharmacy and doctor as a warning against potential conflicts with prescribed drugs.

Click here to submit your review.

Medco

Rating 0
    cancel

99.9% Efficiency Rating??? HA!

Jan 14, 2014 by Anonymous

This company is the worst ever; I will be switching insurance companies next open season, just to get away from these monsters. I truly wonder where they pulled their stats from, since I, and seemingly many others, have had nothing but problems with their mail-order med service. Three weeks to get meds from Las Vegas to CA? Really?? I take several blood pressure medications due to a kidney disease, and will have to take them every day for the rest of my life. As many of you well know, time is of the essence when waiting for such necessary meds. But they are unconcerned about customer service, expediency, or anything other than profits. I think the reason they take so long to start up a prescription initially is to force the customer into putting their meds on "auto-ship", thus Medco (or Express Scripts, or whatever their name is this month) is assured of getting money out of you every month, while you are assured of nothing but poor service. So, I will go to the pharmacy every month and pay the ever-increasing costs, no matter how much it is, just to avoid using their mail-order service. What a con. Lord have mercy on those who cannot afford to do the same!


WORST insurance Coverage I\'ve Ever Had

Jan 07, 2014 by Anonymous

This is the worst insurance coverage I have ever had. The customer who pays for their prescription insurance is pigeon-holed into using the mail-order services by hefty penalties if you refill a script at a local pharmacy more than 3 times. This wouldn't be horrible if their mail order service was actually reliable! I've now been waiting over 3 weeks for a couple medication refills. Each time I've called regarding this single order, they've tried to charge me additional delivery fees or again charge me for medication I didn't receive. Multiple times I've called and been put on hold only to get hung up on! This is just one occasion....but there have been service issues with each and every prescription I've been forced into filling through them. Shouldn't we expect SOME quality of service when we're paying THEM for the insurance coverage to begin with?


Bureaucratic Waste of Human Resources

Jan 07, 2014 by Anonymous

Getting my specialty medication refilled is a NIGHTMARE. Even though they have a pre-approval/pre-authorization from my physician that is good for 1 year, they insist on resubmitting the paperwork EVERY month, and then they cancel my order and I have to call and wait on hold SEVERAL times before they claim to send the paperwork again, and then I have to call and wait on hold to set up delivery AGAIN, and it is an ENDLESS cycle of persistent hell to finally get the refill, which is likely late by then, and then I have a lull in treatment. THE MOST bureaucratic waste of human resources imaginable, PLUS a waste of MY time.


Frustrating to Deal With

Jul 16, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My wife is a type one diabetic since she was 7 years old. Every time we reorder insulin we get the same response; "it's too soon to refill your prescription". She uses a pump that delivers insulin as needed after testing her blood. The dosages are different every day and are not that predictable. When I try to explain this to them they say they cannot send us refills until a specific date. I have had to buy insulin at retail prices almost every 90 days. We've spent thousands of dollars in the last 3 years on insulin and other medications. This mail order prescription service is awful and should be avoided at all costs. Unfortunately our insurance provider requires us to use this service so we are captives to this terrible service and they know it. They are generally rude and uncaring of our situation; their only goal is to get paid, providing a service is only something they must do in order to get paid and they do the minimum necessary, reluctantly, to accomplish that goal.


No Exaggeration... Worst Company Ever!

May 31, 2013 by Anonymous

Congratulations to Medco for never having ever completed a single prescription fulfillment over the course of the four years we\'ve been at your mercy (aka customers). My wife has severely acute asthma and an incredibly serious acid reflux condition, both of which require a number of very important, life-saving prescriptions, which need to be taken every single day in order for her to avoid having stomach bleeding, ulcers, nausea, or having asthma attacks which even lead to needing an Epi-pen. Medco has, on literally every single occasion, either been late, refused to send us the prescriptions, overcharged us, or even sent us the wrong medication. I have seriously lost count of how many times they have put my wife\'s life in danger (it\'s a miracle she has survived their negligence this long!), and I am no longer going to put up with it.

We are currently waiting on all of her meds which have been denied being released due to us \"not paying\" ... we currently have a -$10 balance on our account as per their own website and my account records and payment history - that\'s right, you didn\'t misread that, Medco currently owes us money and yet they have still managed to once again place my wife in a precarious position by not doing even the simplest of jobs correctly.

I am calling for everyone everywhere who has ever had an issue like we have to completely boycott Medco and refuse to use them for anything until they get their act together. It is either this or we get a class-action lawsuit together against them for all of the stress, worry, financial strain, and anguish they have caused to all of us. It\'s time we stop letting them just push us around and do whatever they want because they don\'t care about their customers with so much money coming in all the time. They need to learn that their customers matter and that they do, in fact, need us in order to survive as a company. Let\'s make them take notice since the years of us complaining and giving them another chance have clearly taught those greedy, negligent, elitest pigs a single lesson!


poor quality service

Apr 18, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I just spent 40 minutes on the phone trying to get 2 prescriptions mailed. The customer service is terrible. I dread to think of what would happen if I was really sick.


Expensive and Wrong Prescriptions

Apr 13, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

They overcharge on prescriptions, send the incorrect doses-that are higher priced-and make you pay for it regardless of their errors, send inferior generic medicine without telling you in advance, they've suddenly switched you to a generic, etc.


Drawn Out Process

Feb 29, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

There are no words to describe what I experienced trying to get my meds for this year from MEDCOM. It took 18 phone calls to for it to be resolved. The number on you health insurance card is incorrect and you should not give them the first 3 numbers on it but no one tells you this so they cannot locate your account.


So Many Errors!

Jan 04, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Worst customer service I have ever encountered! They haven't filled a prescription right yet and have cost me hundreds of dollars in their errors and won't reimburse me.


another Mix-up

 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I came home to find a UPS Signature Required form on my door. All meds are to be sent to the office, not our home, because we gave up on getting them at home because of the signature requirement. I call, navigate the voice mail system, and am hung up on. Finally I end up speaking to a rep, who informs me that not only has the medication been sent to the wrong address, one of them has not been sent at all. He tells me that a call was made to cancel the Rx on the 28th. I say that we received no notice of the cancellation, and ask the name of the person who cancelled the Rx. Turns out the pharmacist cancelled the Rx because he didn't know if it was to be filled as capsules or tablets. Apparently it is not possible either to look at how it was filled last time, or to call the doctor for clarification. Another pharmacist agreed to look at the Rx again, but without making any commitment to fill it. Moreover, even if the decision is made to fill the Rx, it will be sent to the incorrect address.


Insurance USA , USA 1.2 3.0 15 15 This company is the worst ever; I will be switching insurance companies next open season, just to get away from these monsters. I truly wonder where they pulled their stats from, s
Page:
12