Hartford is a registered trademark of Hartford and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Hartford

Hartford Insurance is one of the largest and popular insurance companies that is based in the United States. It was founded in the year 1810, and has offices in Japan, Ireland England and United States. It is now more than 200 years since the company is in the business of selling insurance products. The company has nearly 30000 employees, with a $ 2.3 billion income. The company has been ranked in the 78th in the fortune 100 list of the companies. Today the company is said to be the leading provider of different annuity, mutual funds and other saving plans. Today the company is said to be the largest seller of individual annuities in the United States, supplying different kinds of insurance products to the members of American Association of Retired Persons (AARP). Millions of customers are served world wide with the services of the company, provided with the help of insurance agents, brokers and financial instituitions. There are around 11000 independent agencies, along with 100000 registered brokers.It was in the year 2004 that Hartford purchased the Group Benefits Division of CNA Financial Corporation.

Hartford Ratings

  • 2.4
    coverage
  • 2.3
    cost
  • 1.6
    service
  • 1.4
    claims
  • 1.9
    overall rating

Based on 68 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

More About Hartford Insurance
Hartford Insurance is one of the largest insurance providers of the nation, and provides various kinds of insurance services that includes group life, group disability and other kinds of individual life insurance products. The Company was founded in the ear 1810, and is considered to be the oldest of the subsidiaries of Hartford Insurance. In the year December 2005, the total assets and stockholders equity of the company was considered to be $ 285.6 billion and $ 15.3 billion. The company is a holding company and is quite distinct from its subsidiaries. It has no significant operations of its own, thus making full reliance on the dividends from the in insurance companies. The company has always made efforts to maintain a balance and thereby enhance its position as a market leader in the case of insurance. There is a strategy of the company that helps in the development and selling of diverse and innovative products, through the many distribution channels, thereby developing and distributing the distribution channels, by achieving the cost efficiencies, and maintaining different techniques of risk management and also prudent underwriting techniques, that capitalizes on the brand name of the company.

There are two major operations of the company, in the form of Life and Property and Casualty Insurance, and each of these consists of different segments. It was in the quarter ended December 31 2005, that there was a change in the reporting segments in order to reflect the manner by which the different decision makers view the managent. There is also maintenance of retail mutual fund operation, through which the company provides different kinds of investment management and administrative services to the families of 48 mutual funs and different investors. The mutual funds of the company are owned by the shareholders of those funds and not by Hartford Insurance. The business of the company is conducted in ten operating segments, and many times includes the different debt financing and related interest expenses as well as certain purchase accounting adjustments.

Hartford Insuranceretail has been offering fixed, variable and retail mutual funds, that includes different types of stable value products, including structured settlements, and also annuities. Today Hartford Life Insurance is one of the most consolidated life insurance groups, that is based on the statutory assets, under the management, as on December 31, 2005.Today the company is one of the largest insurance providers of the United States, with the third party assets of $ 32.7 billion. There is also a life generated income of $1.2 billion, $1.4 billion and $845 in 2005, 2004 and 2003, respectively.

Click here to submit your review.

Hartford

Rating 0
    cancel

Low Ball Settlement

Feb 13, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My car was hit by a bobcat clean snow in Jan 8, 2014. The driver told his boss that he hit my car and the boss agreed to pay for the damage. We were referral to their insurance, The Hartford. I spoke to their representative the fallowing day and she told me she just need to get hold of the employee and confirm he hit me. 2 weeks went by and I call the The Hartford and I was told they could not get hold of the employee and until then they could not pay for my damages. I told them I need my car to go work and I was missing work. Well one month went by and I call them and the same history the Hartford could not get hold of the employee. I walked down the road at the same day and found the employee. He told me he call them many times and the Hartford did not return their phone calls. So I call the hartford and got the employee to speak to the lady. So she told me she would review all the document and call me back. My damages were $2600 she told me she would only pay $1600 because my appraisal was based on new parts and my car is not new and used so she only could pay for used parts. So please to sign up with them they are bad.


Having a Birthday Makes Me a Bad Driver!

Jul 06, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I was told that my auto insurance increased by $100 a year because I turned 64 years old. I have a PERFECT driving record with NO claims and have always paid my premiums in full before the due date. Instead of my premiums going down on an aging car, they actually have gone up and a big chunk for my 64th birthday. This is discrimination! I should be rewarded for being such an outstanding experienced driver instead of being punished. As of today, I have cancelled both auto and homeowner with Hartford! Not going to sit around and take the abuse!


Bum claims on TV ads

Mar 13, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have had Hartford for 25 years and had never filed a claim until I had a fender bender in parking lot. I was told it was 50% my fault and had to pay a surcharge of $195 a year for 3 years. What happened to accident forgiveness?


Sudden Drastic Increase

Feb 06, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

We have had Hartford for our car and house insurance since 2007 and have been pretty happy for the most part. Recently we had to answer some questions and our policy jump up quite a bit. We called back, answered few more questions and with each question the rate went up again. Our house is in a neighborhood where the properties are slowly declining, the average house value is around or below $100,000. Hartford wants us to pay for 100 pct rebuilding value... $266,000 plus more. When we objected that we shouldn\'t benefit from a new house in this community for $266,000 the response was that is what it would cost to rebuild. No other discussions were allowed.


Horrific Experience

Jan 16, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I was told this is the best disability insurance available,but after I had a back injury, it took 5+ months of sending more and more paperwork to appeal my denial. I am now hiring a lawyer to get them to pay. I have had no money to pay for my prescription meds while I wait for a response from Hartford. My agent cannot understand why they are not paying my claim. They took my premiums for 5 years and now that I need them, they are not there.


No Disability Benefits

Jan 09, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

A total bust! For years I paid into disability insurance through my work, if I should ever need it. Well I needed it and all I got from The Harford was denial, denial, denial. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!! They won't be there for you you if you need it.


Wanted To Up Payment By Unknown Amount

Jan 04, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My husband had a variable life insurance policy for nearly 20 years with automatic payment from our checking account. I received a letter one month stating a cash value low and that we needed to up the payment--they could not say to what amount. We were told to send a blank check, which we did not do. Next month, they lapsed the policy. So now, we don't have any life insurance.


Slow Claim Processing

Dec 26, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My wife has had insurance thru Hartford with her company for 30 years and now needs to use her benefits to get paid til she can return to work. Hartford has not paid her benefits for two months now so my Medicaid check is stretched to the limit. We have called everyone and been promised "The check is in the mail". Well we had no Xmas gifts for our grand kids or great grand kids. I have never seen the lack of humanity or compassion these people have. Still have not heard from these people.


Slow Response and Low Estimate

Dec 19, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I have paid my premiums rise for the past 5 years. When hurricane Sandy hit, it took weeks to get an adjuster. Every time you called, you got a message saying "voice mail box is filled". Every time I asked for the executive officers phone number, I was told it is unavailable. When my adjuster did arrive, he never gave me the estimate. When I finally received it after complaining, not one item could be repaired for the amount we received.


Waiting... Just Waiting...

Nov 28, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

In two more days it will be 3 weeks since my claim was reported and there's still no adjuster at the body shop and I don't even have a loaner car. This is outright not caring for your customers. I did not create the accident. My car was parked and my employee backed into the front of my Prius. I needed this car during the gas shortage or at least another loaner car and nothing was done to help me.


Insurance USA , USA 5.5 127.0 68 68 My car was hit by a bobcat clean snow in Jan 8, 2014. The driver told his boss that he hit my car and the boss agreed to pay for the damage. We were referral to their insurance, Th
Page:
123»