Foremost is a registered trademark of Foremost and is not affiliated with nor does it endore or sponsor, the content of this webpage or InsuranceUSA.com. Trademarks referring to specific providers are used by InsuranceUSA.com for nominative purposes only: to truthfully identify the source of hte products about which information is provided. Such trademarks are solely the property of their respective owners

Foremost

Foremost is a company that represents many independent agents, by the direct sales representatives, and involved in the business of insurance since the year June 12,1952.It was in the year 1961 that the company introduced Travel Sure, an insurance policy that was designed mostly for the Travel Trailers. There are many campaigns that was taken up by the company. The first campaign that was taken up by the company was Fire Hurts, in the year 1974, and later the company also worked with the Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Foremost Ratings

  • 2.1
    coverage
  • 2.1
    cost
  • 1.5
    service
  • 1.2
    claims
  • 1.7
    overall rating

Based on 37 review – 1 is lowest, 5 is highest

All Reviews | Submit Review | InsuranceUSA Rating System

It was in the year 1989 that the company earned the endorsement of AARP, so that mobile home insurance is provided to the customers. There are many customers who have been recommending the services of the company in order to provide insurance to the members. It was in the year 1993, that there were different kids of insurance programs, that were offered to landlords and different kinds of specialty homeowners The company also organized Foremost’s Butterflies are Blooming, that was a temporary exhibit of butterflies in the United States. It was on March 7,2000, that the company was acquired by Farmers Insurance Group of Companies. It was during, March 2000, that the company offered motorcycle and many off road vehicles, that included a program ob snowmobiles. The first Family Boaters Insurance program was offered in the year 2003, and it was in the year 2004, that AARP was endorsed in order to provide motorcycle insurance to all the members. The company has today more than 2000 employees across the country that includes people from office, regional agencies as well as marketing claims.

History of Foremost Insurance
The company started the business of insurance in the year 1952, when the mobile home industry was just in the infant stage. Just after the world war, the mobile homes were becoming a popular concept, as these were an inexpensive solution to the housing problem. The company started with three people in a one-room office in Downtown. Within a year the staff were expanded to 11 people and was doing business in more than 35 of the nation. The company in the later years expanded the insurance programs for RVs in 1969, and continued to add more types of insurance to our different product lines. The first automobile policy was sold in the year 1978 which was followed by the insurance of site built homes in the year 1982.In 1983 there was development of specialty insurance programs for the landlords and the homeowners. In 1996 there was direct marketing of the home insurance programs, and in 1999 there was a unique service program for the owners of Luxury Motor Coaches. The year 2000 saw the offering of motorcycle and off road vehicle insurance programs for the snowmobiles. In the year 2004 AARP had endorsed the company in order to offer the motorcycle insurance to its members.

Foremost Insurance Companies
Foremost is an integral part of the Farmers Insurance Group, which does business in the United States. The following are the companies that can be associated with Foremost:

  • Foremost Insurance Company Grand Rapids Michigan
  • Foremost County Mutual Insurance Company (Texas)
  • Foremost Lloyds of Texas.
  • Foremost Property and Casualty Insurance Company
  • Foremost Signature Insurance Company

Click here to submit your review.

Foremost

Rating 0
    cancel

Problems From the Beginning

Aug 04, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

First problem was from the very beginning of the policy. They put down the wrong recreational vehicle on the paperwork and did not notify the lienholder that I was covered, nor did the list the lienholder in the paperwork. I called when I received the policy to notify them of the errors. Two days later, I called to verify the changes had been made and the lienholder was notified. They assured me it had been done. Found out a month later that nothing had been done and now the lienholder was threatening a $700 fine for being uninsured. I called back to resolve it and was told I did not exist in their system. I had been making monthly payments on insurance and they had no record of it or me!!! Called the local office that I obtained the insurance through and it took weeks resolve everything. I called 6 months later to cancel the insurance because my last payment was never processed by them, though I did make it. I filled out the cancelation form, signed it, and mailed it in, but they still did not cancel my insurance. Six months later, its still not canceled and they are sending me renewal notices. I called to resolve it, but no one ever called me back. Absolutely the worst insurance I have ever had to deal with. Stay far away from any dealings with them and spare yourself the agony of defeat.


Denied Damage Claim

Jul 27, 2014 by Anonymous

Started as a Farmers client and they switched me to Foremost. Said they were now Farmer's modular home insurance underwriters. After several years they have raised the rates every year to where they are over double from when we started with them. Had a claim after a major hail storm and the adjuster was not worth the time having him here. According to him all damage was done before and if not before, was not covered by policy. Amazing it was covered when we bought the policy from Farmer's!! He didn't listen to what was being said to him. He did opposite of what we asked of him and didn't even care. Time to dump this company and their useless adjuster. But he did what the company like s their vs adjusters to do. Screw the customers!


Almost Doubled My Premiums

Feb 28, 2014 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

I had foremost for my motorcycle insurance. I was satisfied with my yearly cost with them until I got my renewal notice for 2012....they nearly doubled my premium!

I called to ask why and they said it was my credit rating!!! I switched over to Progressive and they charged me the same premium I had with Foremost when I first started with them. I am very happy with Progressive.

I really think Foremost did me a favor as when I investigated them because of my rate increase, I found out that they have a whopping 67% customer dissatisfaction rate.

Get rid of Foremost as I don't think they will be in business too much longer.


Quick Claims Response

Jan 20, 2014 by Anonymous

Not many companies to choose from for my vacant home. Worked with a Farmers rep and went with them. With the recent polar vortex the pipes burst and I was covered because my rep advised me to get sewer and drain coverage... thank God I did! They were quick to send someone and my Farmers rep recommended a guy that did the work and got me taken care of!


Constant Rising Insurance Cost

Feb 28, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

We moved into a new mobile home six years ago. Since the first new policy in our mobile home the premium has risen 4 times. We have NEVER filed a claim, but our premium continues to explode in price.


Inconsiderate Claims Reps and Denial

Feb 27, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

My sewer pipe froze due to several subzero days with no snow yet to help insulate things. I did my best to solve the issue by myself, not wanting to give the insurance company an excuse to raise my rates. My deductible is $250, so I figured I could work on my own until I bypassed $250 in efforts. We were unsuccessful in thawing the pipes and called Foremost. They didn\'t send an independent adjuster or anything to assist us, but left it up to me to find estimates. It was Christmastime, and we couldn\'t find anyone to come out. By this time we were scooping out sewage from one of the toilets so we could use it when we couldn\'t drive to a gas station. They didn\'t tell us that our policy covered hotels, and the Foremost adjuster KNEW all this, but still didn\'t tell us about the hotel option or send an adjuster. And then he closed our case saying repairs and labor should cost $230 since we were able to use one toilet, below our $250 deductible, even though we still had no sewer. We finally had a handyman come out to thaw the pipes, but he found that the pipes had now burst and there was raw sewage under the home. I contacted Foremost and explained everything and STILL he did not send an adjuster or tell us about the hotel coverage we had, but insisted we had to find a plumber. I finally found a contractor to come do an estimate to do the work. They sent me an estimate, but Foremost wasn\'t happy with it and wanted an itemized breakdown of expenses and a statement of cause. When they didn\'t get it by week\'s end, they again closed my case. Even though the handyman and the contractor had both confirmed that my sewer system was cracked and needed replaced, they didn\'t send an independent contractor or tell me I was covered to stay in a hotel if my home was unlivable, only that during the couple days repairs were being made would they cover hotel. I sent them pictures of my gross toilets, over-flowing sink with disgusting dishes, the damage to the floors from overflowed toilets and dishwasher... However, the original claims adjuster was out of the office and someone else got the mail. She took prompt action and called me, set up an appointment with an independent insurance adjuster and informed me that my insurance coverage covered a hotel and a food allowance until my home was livable, but that I had to pay for it and be reimbursed. It took a week for them to get the Independent insurance adjuster\'s report and then DENIED ALL COVERAGE because my pipes has been seeping for weeks. Of course my pipes had been seeping for weeks. I had been asking for help for MONTHS!!


Threats and Poor Customer Service

Feb 18, 2013 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

This is the worst bait and switch company you could imagine. Prices are not even what they guarantee you. You can never pose a question to their unintelligent customer service reps with out them getting defensive and abusive. Their answer to everything is to send threatening letters.


Cancelled Policy After Claim

Jul 12, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

We had a storm blew a some part of shed into out home. We got a letter saying that they were cancelling policy.


Unauthorized Transactions

Feb 06, 2012 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

This company has made numerous unauthorized transactions on my account and is still sending me bills claiming that I owe THEM money!


They won't Cancel My EFT and won't Refund

Dec 09, 2011 by Anonymous
Cost:
Coverage:
Service:
Claims:

Last year, I cancelled my EFT (Electronic Funds Transfer). This year, I switched insurance companies. I cancelled my insurance with Foremost and they did not cancel my EFT! What a surprise it was when they took nearly a $1,000 out of my account and left me with over $350 in bounced check charges. They won't cancel my EFT, won't reimburse my bank charges, and won't give my money back. I tried to call and there is no way to contact an actual person through their phone system.


Insurance USA , USA 8.6 127.0 37 37 First problem was from the very beginning of the policy. They put down the wrong recreational vehicle on the paperwork and did not notify the lienholder that I was covered, nor did
Page:
1234